|Address:||Vicinity of Bunch, Oklahoma 040, Adair County 001; SW 1/4, Sec. 3, T 14 N, R 24 E||County||Adair|
This “Y” shaped building measures 112′ by 135′ and is constructed from cut and rusticated, randomly laid native stone. The roof is gabled with cross gables and arched over the gym. The main entry is centered between the forks of the “Y” and consists of double glass doors protected by an extension of the roof line. The windows are singly placed with concrete sills, most of which have been replaced with wooden inserts and smaller energy efficient windows. Windows on the gym have been covered with with fiberglass panels. The walls of the gym were constructed of double rock of about 18 inches in width. Concrete inlays create false arches on the front facade of the structure. A cinder block addition to the west end of the building does not destroy the integrity of this structure.
The WPA’s construction of this building has provided the community with an exceptional community resource. Economically the wages earned from its construction were put back into the local economy helping ease the difficulties created by the limited money supply. Construction of the building also generated employment for men hard pressed to supply their families with the necessities of life. Some 20,000 manhours of labor were generated by this project. Massive double wall construction and the use of false arch concrete inlays make this structure architecturally unique.
VERBAL BOUNDARY DESCRIPTION: Go 3 miles north of Bunch on a paved county road to a point 624 feet east and 220 feet south of the northwest corner of the SW 1/4, Sec. 3, T 14 N, R 24 E, then go east 208 feet, south 208 feet, west 208 feet and north 208 feet.
The Cave Springs Public School is a K-12 school in rural Oklahoma. The main building was constructed in 1926. The WPA added this gymnasium in 1939