|Address:||Henryetta, Oklahoma 040, Okmulgee County 111||County:||Okmulgee|
|Started:||Completed:||Fieldhouse – 1938, Fence 1935|
Cameron Field still in use.
The field house at Henryetta has two dressing rooms, each measuring 36′ x 22′ that are connected by an arched entrance with two ticket booths. The total structure, including the archway, is 82 feet across and is constructed of poured concrete. The roof is flat with parapets. All doors are framed with concrete. There are small, square windows near the eaves. The front has been painted gold, and football players are painted on each dressing room. The back and sides are painted white.
The rock fence is attached to each side of the fieldhouse. One side measures 225 feet and is eight feet tall. It is constructed of cut and rusticated native stone of buff color that is randomly laid. A new grandstand and a new dressing room have been added to this football field. These alterations do not impeach the integrity of the structures.
Construction of this recreational facility and stone fence provided badly-needed jobs for unskilled and unemployed laborers and miners who needed some economic security and infused wages of some 104,000 man-hours of labor into Henryetta’s locals economy. It also enhanced recreational opportunities in the area. Architecturally, the fence and fieldhouse are unique in terms of type, scale, and workmanship. The fieldhouse is particularly unique because of the concrete materials. This was the only WPA project in Okmulgee County constructed of poured concrete.