|Address:||Unmarked streets, Sasakwa, Oklahoma 040, Seminole County 133||County:||Seminole|
The 17-room Sasakwa School is a single-story U-shaped building constructed of brick. The structure is 148 feet wide and 178 feet long on the west wing and 158 feet long on the east wing. Both wings are 54 feet wide. The roof is flat and has parapets. Two main entryways on the front are recessed inside arcade-type enclosures that extend tower-like above the parapets and are covered with hipped roofs and Spanish tile. These and roof-line, scrolled cornices on the front and above rear entries suggest a Mission Revival style. Iron anchor beams run across the front facade of the building. Window sills and the vaussoirs of the front entries are of concrete. Enclosure of some window openings with wood or aluminum inserts and the addition of wood, storm porches on rear entries have not compromised the architectural integrity of the building. An 11′ x 12′ brick base for a water tower lies 25 feet east of the building.
SIGNIFICANCE: 1937-1938, 1940; builder/architect: Albert S. Ross
The original Sasakwa School burned down during the school year 1937-1938, leaving the town without a school. Not having adequate funds to rebuild a school that could meet the needs of its students, Sasakwa turned to the federal government for assistance. The WPA was the perfect solution. The WPA provided federal money and at the same time employed many unemployed Sasakwa area men in the construction of the school. In this case, the Sasakwa School is significant in that it met two pressing needs: the need for immediate school facilities in Sasakwa and the need for an income for many Sasakwa residents, some of whom had not been able to find employment for years. The building that resulted is unique to Sasakwa for its scale, style, type, and workmanship and it’s allusion to Mission Revival style makes it unique among WPA schools throughout the state.
VERBAL BOUNDARY DESCRIPTION: Lots 3, 4, 5, and 6 in Block 3 and Lots 13 through 21 in Block 4 of the Miller Addition to Sasakwa original